Testing

District Testing Calendar


District Testing Team 

District Testing Coordinator: Heidi Cosmi-Godau

Secretary for Academics and Assessment: Ms. Lynne Hushon
973-697-1700 ext 7068
 

Individual School Building Assessment Coordinators

Apshawa - Mrs. Amy Mett amy.mett@wmtps.org 
Maple Road - Mrs. Jaime Kettner jaime.kettner@wmtps.org
Marshall Hill - Mrs. Maureen Mulligan maureen.mulligan@wmtps.org
Highlander Academy - Dr. Gayle Strauss gayle.strauss@wmtps.org 
Paradise Knoll - Mrs. Susan Bickford susan.bickford@wmtps.org
Upper Greenwood Lake - Mrs. Kimberly Walker kimberly.walker@wmtps.org 
Westbrook - Ms. Meghan Donegan meghan.donegan@wmtps.org 
Macopin - Mr. Ronald Rowe ronald.rowe@wmtps.org 
WM High School - Mrs. Heidi Cosmi-Godau heidi.cosmi-godau@wmtps.org 


District Wide Testing

  • Access for ELLS - Students enrolled in the ELL program
  • AP - Course-based Grades 9-12
  • DLM- Dynamic Learning Maps Language Arts Literacy, Science,  and Math
  • InView Test of Cognitive Abilities: Grade 4
  • Cogat Test of Cognitive Abilities: Grade 2
  • PARCC – Grades 3-11 Language Arts Literacy and Mathematics
  • PSAT/8/9 – Grades 8 & 9
  • PSAT/NMSQT – Grades 10 & 11
  • SAT

State-Mandated Assessment Dates for 2016-2017         Female Student.png

*Below are the dates for all NJ State Assessments for the 2016-2017 School Year. Each test acronym is hyperlinked to provide more information about each test.

PARCC: Computer Based: March 27, 2017-May 19, 2017
            Paper Based: March 27, 2017-April 7, 2017

DLM:     Computer Based: April 3, 2017-May 19, 2017                





Additional Testing Information

ASVAB - (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) 

Administered by the Armed Services to Juniors & Seniors who chose to take the test and want to explore careers. There is no obligation to join any of the services.

Additional Information (including registration procedures) can be found under our Guidance tab.
Standardized Tests For College Admission: SAT, PSAT, ACT, AP
 
ADVANCED PLACEMENT(AP) - Optional  
Students enrolled in Advanced Placement Courses are expected to participate in this course based assessment, i.e., AP History, AP Psychology, AP English, AP Biology, & AP Calculus, AP Statistics, AP US Government, AP Studio Art, etc.  Test are used by some colleges & universities for offering college credits, depending on the score achieved.  Please use this link to register for an exam : (coming soon)

College Entrance Exams - Required by most 4-year colleges

PSAT (Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test)
The Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) is a program cosponsored by the College Board and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). It's a standardized test that provides firsthand practice for the SAT®.  It is also used as an entrance exam for the NMSC scholarship programs.

The PSAT is given one time a year only in October.  This year, all 8th, 9th, 10th, and 11th grade students in the West Milford School District will take the test on Wednesday, Oct. 19th during school hours. All students will be automatically registered and there will be no cost to the student or family for the test. For more information, select Guidance on the District Home Page, then follow the links to PSAT information.

SAT
Usually taken in spring of junior year and fall of senior year, this standardized test is used by most colleges in the admissions process. Registration is done on-line at http://www.collegeboard.com .  Registration materials are available in the Guidance Office.

SAT Subject Tests

Required by some colleges & used by most of these colleges for admissions and others for placement in courses, these tests are subject oriented, e.g., physics, biology, French, United States History. Registration information is the same as for the SAT.

ACT
Similar to the SAT, most colleges now will accept either/or. Registration information is available in the Guidance Office. Some students do better on this test since it is more curriculum-based. Registration is done On-Line at http://www.actstudent.org/ .

New Jersey Biology Competency Test
NJBCT Parent Letter 2017
Your Guide to the NJBCT 
Student Preparation Booklet