Testing



Letter Announcing 2021-22 Assessments


Updates: 


NJSLA Testing will begin on April 25, 2021 and will end on June 3, 2022. This is the window of the assessment. Elementary Schools, Macopin Middle School, and WMHS will utilize dates within this window: 

Elementary Schools: April 25 - 29 [ELA]; May 9 - 13 [Math]; May 23 - 27 [Science]  this includes make-up dates

Macopin: May 2022 

WMHS: 

May 5th

9 ELA

 

Period 1&2

May 6th

9 ELA

 

Period 1&2

May 9th

9 MATH

11 SC

DO Schedule

May 10th

9 MATH

11 SC

DO Schedule

**DO=Delayed Opening**

The State has created another assessment called, "NJGPA" This is for Grade 11 only. 

NJGPA Test dates will be the following:

March 14th

11thGrade part I

Early Dismissal

March 15th

11 Grade part II

Period 1 & 2


Old news: 
THE 2021-22 START STRONG ASSESSMENT IS SCHEDULED FOR SEPTEMBER 13 - OCTOBER 22, 2021. Unlike last school year, these assessments will be mandated by the State of NJ. The assessments will be for grades 4 - 10 which include Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2, and Grade 12 Science. 

The PSATs will take place on October 26, 2021. The College Board has included grade 10 students with the opportunit\y to take the NMSQT along with grade 11 students. WMHS will partipate with both grade 10 and 11 students for the NMSQT (National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test). 

 
NJDOE's Parent Portal for NJSLA results: PLEASE SIGN UP:  https://nj-results.pearsonaccessnext.com/login
(Click on "Sign up" under "Don't have account") 
Please feel free to review the letter that was sent out in December 2019: 
NJSLA PARENT PORTAL LETTER


District Testing Team 

District Testing Coordinator: Dr. Gregory Matlosz

Secretary for Academics and Assessment: Jessica Martin 
 

Individual School Building Assessment Coordinators

Apshawa - Mrs. Amy Mett amy.mett@wmtps.org 
Maple Road - Mrs. Jaime Kettner jaime.kettner@wmtps.org
Marshall Hill - Mrs. Maureen Mulligan maureen.mulligan@wmtps.org
Highlander Academy - Ms. Brenda Ludwig brenda.ludwig@wmtps.org 
Paradise Knoll - Mrs. Susan Bickford susan.bickford@wmtps.org
Upper Greenwood Lake - Mrs. Kimberly Walker kimberly.walker@wmtps.org 
Westbrook - Ms. Meghan Donegan meghan.donegan@wmtps.org 
Macopin - Oliver Pruksarnukul, oliver.pruksarnukul@wmtps.org
WMHS - Karen Johnson, karen.johnson@wmtps.org 

District Wide Testing



Additional Testing Information

ASVAB - (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) 

Administered by the Armed Services to Juniors & Seniors who chose to take the test and want to explore careers. There is no obligation to join any of the services.

Additional Information (including registration procedures) can be found under our Guidance tab.
Standardized Tests For College Admission: SAT, PSAT, ACT, AP
 
ADVANCED PLACEMENT(AP) - Optional  
Students enrolled in Advanced Placement Courses are expected to participate in this course based assessment, i.e., AP History, AP Psychology, AP English, AP Biology, & AP Calculus, AP Statistics, AP US Government, AP Studio Art, etc.  Test are used by some colleges & universities for offering college credits, depending on the score achieved.  Please use this link to register for an exam : (coming soon)

College Entrance Exams - Required by most 4-year colleges

PSAT (Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test)  PSAT/NMSQT – Grade 10/11 - October 27, 2021

The Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) is a program cosponsored by the College Board and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). It's a standardized test that provides firsthand practice for the SAT®.  It is also used as an entrance exam for the NMSC scholarship programs.

The PSAT for Grade 10/11 is given one time a year.  This year, all 10th/11th grade students in the West Milford School District will take the test on October 27, 2021 during school hours. All students will be automatically registered and there will be no cost to the student or family for the test. For more information, select Guidance on the District Home Page, then follow the links to PSAT information. 

SAT
Usually taken in spring of junior year and fall of senior year, this standardized test is used by most colleges in the admissions process. Registration is done on-line at http://www.collegeboard.com .  Registration materials are available in the Guidance Office.

SAT Subject Tests
Required by some colleges & used by most of these colleges for admissions and others for placement in courses, these tests are subject oriented, e.g., physics, biology, French, United States History. Registration information is the same as for the SAT.

ACT
Similar to the SAT, most colleges now will accept either/or. Registration information is available in the Guidance Office. Some students do better on this test since it is more curriculum-based. Registration is done On-Line at http://www.actstudent.org/ .