Testing


Letter Announcing 2020-21 Assessments


Updates: 
The NJDOE has announced NJSLA will be administered during the Spring 2021. [Nov. 18, 2020 update] 

PSAT UPDATE!  The College Board has announced January 26 as a PSAT/NMSQT date. More info to come.  
NJDOE's Parent Portal for NJSLA results: PLEASE SIGN UP:  https://nj-results.pearsonaccessnext.com/login
(Click on "Sign up" under "Don't have account") 
Please feel free to review the letter that was sent out in December 2019: 
NJSLA PARENT PORTAL LETTER


District Testing Team 

District Testing Coordinator: Dr. Gregory Matlosz

Secretary for Academics and Assessment: Ms. Lynne Hushon
973-697-1700 ext 7068
 

Individual School Building Assessment Coordinators

Apshawa - Mrs. Amy Mett amy.mett@wmtps.org 
Maple Road - Mrs. Jaime Kettner jaime.kettner@wmtps.org
Marshall Hill - Mrs. Maureen Mulligan maureen.mulligan@wmtps.org
Highlander Academy - Ms. Brenda Ludwig brenda.ludwig@wmtps.org 
Paradise Knoll - Mrs. Susan Bickford susan.bickford@wmtps.org
Upper Greenwood Lake - Mrs. Kimberly Walker kimberly.walker@wmtps.org 
Westbrook - Ms. Meghan Donegan meghan.donegan@wmtps.org 
Macopin - Oliver Pruksarnukul, oliver.pruksarnukul@wmtps.org

District Wide Testing


State-Mandated Assessment Dates for 2020-21        Female Student.png

*Below are the dates for all NJ State Assessments for the 2020-2021 School Year. Each test acronym is hyperlinked to provide more information about each test.


New Jersey Start Strong [optional assessment] The district will participate in this assessment. More info to come. 

New Jersey Student Learning Assessments for Grades 3-10 - Language Arts/Literacy and Mathematics (NJSLA-ELA & NJSLA-Math):
Computer Based: TBD
        Paper Based:TBD

DLM
:     Computer Based: The District will participate in the optional Fall DLM Assessment. 
     
New Jersey Student Learning Assessment for Grades 5, 8 & 11 - Science (NJSLA-S):
Computer Based: TBD
Paper Based: TBD




Additional Testing Information

ASVAB - (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) 

Administered by the Armed Services to Juniors & Seniors who chose to take the test and want to explore careers. There is no obligation to join any of the services.

Additional Information (including registration procedures) can be found under our Guidance tab.
Standardized Tests For College Admission: SAT, PSAT, ACT, AP
 
ADVANCED PLACEMENT(AP) - Optional  
Students enrolled in Advanced Placement Courses are expected to participate in this course based assessment, i.e., AP History, AP Psychology, AP English, AP Biology, & AP Calculus, AP Statistics, AP US Government, AP Studio Art, etc.  Test are used by some colleges & universities for offering college credits, depending on the score achieved.  Please use this link to register for an exam : (coming soon)

College Entrance Exams - Required by most 4-year colleges

PSAT (Preliminary Scholastic Assessment Test)  PSAT/NMSQT – Grade 11 - January 26 (new date added!) 

The Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) is a program cosponsored by the College Board and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). It's a standardized test that provides firsthand practice for the SAT®.  It is also used as an entrance exam for the NMSC scholarship programs.

The PSAT for Grade 11 is given one time a year.  This year, all 11th grade students in the West Milford School District will take the test on January 26, 2021 during school hours. All students will be automatically registered and there will be no cost to the student or family for the test. For more information, select Guidance on the District Home Page, then follow the links to PSAT information. 

SAT
Usually taken in spring of junior year and fall of senior year, this standardized test is used by most colleges in the admissions process. Registration is done on-line at http://www.collegeboard.com .  Registration materials are available in the Guidance Office.

SAT Subject Tests
Required by some colleges & used by most of these colleges for admissions and others for placement in courses, these tests are subject oriented, e.g., physics, biology, French, United States History. Registration information is the same as for the SAT.

ACT
Similar to the SAT, most colleges now will accept either/or. Registration information is available in the Guidance Office. Some students do better on this test since it is more curriculum-based. Registration is done On-Line at http://www.actstudent.org/ .